Transitional arrangements

1 April 2019 Update

The EESS commenced in Queensland on 1 March 2013. In 2018 an intergovernmental agreement (IGA) on governance of the EESS was signed by Queensland, Western Australia and Victoria. EESS legislation started on 1 April 2019 in Victoria. Other Australian jurisdictions are currently progressing or considering (or have not yet made a decision about) their implementation of the EESS. New Zealand will have complementary legislation in due course.

The IGA sets up a ministerial oversight committee (MOC) of Ministers who have signed the IGA to ensure government oversight and governance of the EESS laws. A Standing Council of Officers (SCO), with members appointed by the Ministers, has also been constituted by the IGA. The SCO will oversee the operational aspects of the EESS.

A new website for the EESS is under development and all information relating to the EESS will be migrated to once that website is finalised.

The EESS is now considered to be operational and all previous transitional arrangements have ceased, or the time period for the previous transitions has now been exceeded.

Please see for Victorian transitional allowances between 1 April 2019 and 1 October 2019 and for any allowances for uploading, or adding modifications to, certificates issued by non-Queensland RECS certifiers or updates to their existing certificates from 1 April 2019 and for after 1 October 2019.


Previous transition arrangements for the Electrical Equipment Safety System (EESS) for In-Scope Electrical Equipment

On 1 March 2013 Queensland implemented the EESS and there was a phased introduction by the participating jurisdictions to ensure industry is not impeded in their business activities. These transitional allowances relate to electrical safety matters of the EESS and use of the RCM for in-scope electrical equipment.

Irrespective of any transitional allowances any electrical equipment sold must be electrically safe.

Since 1 March 2013, all EESS, in-scope electrical equipment:
a) is classified as level 1, level 2 or level 3;
b) previously classified as “prescribed” will be classified as level 3 and all previously classified equipment as non-prescribed equipment that meets the in-scope definition will be classified as level 1;
c) level 2 and level 3 equipment is defined in the latest AS/NZS4417.2 standards.

From 1 March 2013, to assist with compliance with the EESS and use of the RCM; the following transitional arrangements applied:

a) up to a 6 month transition period for responsible suppliers to register themselves (i.e, Responsible Suppliers are to be registered by 1 September 2013);
b) up to a 12 month period for responsible supplier to register level 3 in-scope electrical equipment (i.e, Responsible Supplier have until 1 March 2014 to register their level 3 equipment);
c) up to 3 years for in-scope electrical equipment manufactured in Australia or imported, to have the RCM placed on the in-scope electrical equipment by the responsible supplier (i.e. by 1 March 2016);
d) up to a 5 year for in-scope electrical equipment to be sold at retail level before the RCM must be placed on the in-scope electrical equipment (i.e. by 1 March 2019).