Equipment Marking

With the progressive introduction of the EESS across participating jurisdictions, the marking requirements for electrical equipment is currently moving towards a single mark called the Regulatory Compliance Mark (RCM).


Read more: Equipment Marking

Equipment Safety in Australia and New Zealand

Electrical safety, including equipment safety, in Australia and New Zealand is regulated by each Australian state and territory and New Zealand separately.

Read more: Equipment Safety in Australia and New Zealand

Certification of Equipment

Regulations and Standards apply to all household equipment that is sold or offered for sale in Australia and New Zealand.

Certain types of equipment, known as level 3 equipment, prescribed equipment or declared articles, must go through a certification process which ensures a safe design before they can be ready for the Australian or New Zealand market.

To verify your product has nationally recognised certification, click here for the public search

Read more: Certification of Equipment