Implementation of the Electrical Equipment Safety System

The EESS commenced In Queensland on 1 March 2013 with a 12 month transition period.  Tasmania and Western Australia have recognised the EESS.  Australian jurisdictions are currently progressing or considering their implementation of the EESS. New Zealand will have complementary legislation in due course.

Due to the ongoing transition the EESS requirements for after 1 March 2014 have been reviewed.

The ERAC Equipment Certification System

ERAC has created a central portal for identifying all certificates of electrical equipment issued under electrical safety laws in Australia. 

To verify your product has a Certificate, click here for the public search of certificates.

Uniform Electrician Licensing Across Australia

In 2001, the National Uniform Electrical Licensing Advisory Council (NUELAC) released the following uniform set of requirements for licensed electricians.

Read more: Uniform Electrician Licensing Across Australia

Electrical Equipment Safety Recall Guide

When faults or safety concerns arise with equipment already on the market it can be removed from sale by mandatory or voluntary recalls.

Provided to assist is the Electrical Equipment Safety Recall Guide

Minimum Energy Performance Standards (MEPS) and Labelling Program, Australia

Certain electrical products in Australia must be labelled with their energy efficiency rating and/or meet minimum energy efficiency standards before sale.

For more information visit

Accident Statistics

Electrical safety regulators collect and analyse electrical fatality data to assist our work towards improving electrical safety in Australia and New Zealand.

Read more: Accident Statistics