Equipment Safety in Australia and New Zealand

The EESS The safety of household electrical equipment in Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia and Tasmania is regulated using the Electrical Equipment Safety System (EESS) which has a new standalone website, South Australia, Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory are transitioning to the new Electrical Equipment Safety System (EESS).  New Zealand will have complementary legislation….

Read more

Certification of Equipment

Regulations and Standards apply to all household equipment that is sold or offered for sale in Australia and New Zealand. Certain types of equipment, known as level 3 equipment, prescribed equipment or declared articles, must go through a certification process which ensures a safe design before they can be ready for the Australian or New….

Read more

Equipment Marking

With the progressive introduction of the EESS across participating jurisdictions, the marking requirements for electrical equipment is currently moving towards a single mark called the Regulatory Compliance Mark (RCM). This mark is a trade mark of the ERAC members and conditions of its use is detailed in the latest edition of AS/NZS4417.1. There are transition….

Read more